P.O.Box 26112
Phoenix, AZ 85068

 Our next event..    

Monday, Jan 21st


Arrowhead Registration

Current Sign Ups


in February 


Where Do We Play?  Checkout our....

Tournament Site Map




Arizona's Premier Senior Golf Association 
Playing monthly since 1978

   Next up - Arrowhead Country Club 

See what our members are saying...
"It was a pleasant experience"..... Loren Foye
"We would highly recommend".... John Hernandez

CardinaleWay Mazda - in Mesa

Thanks to Vans Golf Shops for supplying our amateur
prizes and promoting our association.
click here to see their great selection.

1st Place!


Mark Joswick, Marshall Gavre, Kirk Allison, Thomas Renli

3rd Place!


Carl Juengst, Ralph Klein, Steve Stuebner, Randy Wittig



Verde River Golf and Social Club ushered out the 40th season of the Southwest Senior Golf Association's Founders Championship with spectacular weather and an exceptional golf course.  The Founders Championship is the culmination of 12 months of play where top amateurs and pros earn the right to play for the team championship as well as Player of the Year for both amateur and profession through points earned throughout the season.  Amateur John Hernandez steady play throughout the season solidified his position as top point earner and captured Amateur Player of the Year along with $120. John was followed closely by Mick McKenzie who earned $100.  Professional Randy Wittig was also near the top throughout the year and grabbed the Professional Player of the Year point’s title and earned $100.  Greg Harmon tried to close the gap with some great play but came up short, but earned $80 for his efforts.  With many new members having joined throughout the year, it will be an interesting points race for 2019.  Congratulation to all those earning point dollars from this tournament within a tournament.  



Special thanks to Director of Golf Jeff Lessig and Head Golf Professional Jesus Martinez and their staff for making the day run smooth from start to finish.  It felt more like spring after the winter weather we have experienced and the team of Marshall Gavre, Mark Joswick, Thomas Renli and Kirk Allison made easy work by claiming first place with an excellent team score of 125.  Professional Greg Harmon bested the 95 players by shooting a fine 3 under par 69.  Amateur Larry Wood took net honors with 67.  The most exciting shot of the day was hit by Jim Sartor who aced the short 303 yard, par 4 8th hole!  There were 4 amazing prizes for a hole in one but were on par 3’s.  Jim’s ace unfortunately didn’t qualify, however he did collect the hole-in-one pot, as well as gross and net skin from the day's Cash Pool game.  Phil Kerr of CardinaleWay Mazda of Mesa graciously provided the 4 holes-in-one prizes and the drink tickets for the event.  In addition there were also 4 closest-to-the-pin prizes provided by Jeff Reich/Russ Lyon Sotheby's International Realty.  They were won by Gary Ireton on #3, Kelly Olohan on #5, Dirk Hautanen on #10 and Ray Parker on #13.  Additional thanks to the club for the wonderful after golf dinner.  


Our next event is just over a week away on January 21st at Arrowhead Country Club. That event will kick off our 41st season and 2019 Founders Cup Race. Sign up now if you haven't already done so. 


 2nd Place!

Larry Wood, John Welsh, John Hernandez, Brad Schmierer

Mr. Hole-in-One!

Phil Kerr, Jim Sartor, Steve Dallas